Breaking From A Nightmare

Flaking paint on cracked walls
Falls to the floor and breaks;
In an empty room all I saw
Were hearts broken and off shape;

A looming mirage of a human soul
Touches me with fear;
A window shatters, the room is cold
And dismay is all I hear;

I’m calling out as loud as I can
But somehow my voice is seized;
The door opens, I see a hand,
It’s reaching out to me;

Trying to walk to the open door
My path just fills with blood;
I’m so afraid ’cause on the floor
Tears are starting to flood;

On the doorway I catch a glimpse,
I see terrors of the night;
On my face passes a wince
As I feel intensive fright;

A graveyard set on fire
With voices saying my name,
Sounding out like a choir,
Beckoning me with hate;

I turn around and see a case
Of stairs upon which I should tread;
I cannot move, I am caged
By nightmares I absolutely dread.

Leave a comment